10 Years, 10 Questions

 

I’ve been slacking recently .. having been horribly busy both in and out of game and, as usual, the blog has suffered because of it.  I’ve just been catching up on some other bloggers and came across this, and decided that, as I was filling in the form anyway, I might as well actually publish it here:

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I bought the game for my husband as a gift many moons ago and got so engrossed watching him play, that I bought it for myself only a few days later :-P

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

A night-elf hunter.  Poor, misguided girl … she took ages to work out auto-shot, didn’t use a pet and eventually got chased off a cliff and died ….

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

Initially it was just automatic for me to pick alliance, but as I tend to like to try everything, I went from one extreme to another .. going from a sexy, bouncy night elf to an ugly undead with her jaw hanging off … I’ve stuck mainly Horde since then.

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

Oh gosh … so many.  That first night elf falling off a cliff and dying was one .. I didn’t know about hearthstones then, or graveyards, so when I made it back to my body and resurrected, and couldn’t find my way back up the cliff, I just abandoned her.  She’s probably there still …

Another was when my husband and I were out questing with a friend and she fell part way down a cliff in hellfire (right on the side of the “world”, before we could fly) .. and my husband jumped down after her to try and save her .. and they both ended up falling to their deaths … :-P

There’s a bit of a theme developing here …

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

The massive range of things to do.  One of the big draws for me is that I NEVER have time to do everything I want to do, meaning there is always a reason to log in …

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

Hmmm … probably “collecting” … achievements, mounts, pets …  *

Edit .. I’ve just realised this could be read two ways!  A specific location in game I tend to gravitate towards when levelling, at least, is Nagrand.  I love the area and the quests around there.  In fact I like most of that continent .. if only for the gorgeous skies :-P

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

On my main character, my /played shows as 204 days, 16 hours …

As for whether or not it has been continuous … I’ve never stopped my subscription.  I’ve been paying for WoW continuously since Christmas 2006.  There has been the odd day here and there when I haven’t logged in .. or the odd week when I’m on holiday, but WoW is part of my usual routine and has been for years.  I don’t always play the same character, but my current main has been my main for the majority of my WoW-playing life .. the other characters get less than half the attention she does ..

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

Sometimes … it depends on time constraints.  I don’t generally read it if I’ve done the quest before on another character, but I try to read most of the new quest text.  I’m less inclined to read it now that the map “helps” us so much.  Once upon a time you had to read and re-read some quests in great detail just to work out what/where/how.

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

I sometimes wish that I was in exactly the same position as now, but someone else was running things.  Running a guild (even a casual one) is very time consuming and can be rather stressful at times.  Unfortunately I have a specific view of how things should run, in my head, and it just doesn’t seem to allow for myself to sit back and let someone else do all the work.  I’ve tried a few times to delegate, but I always end up having to do it myself again in the end, so it’s just not worth the hassle.  This may cause problems come the next expansion, as we’re in the process of creating a second guild for the opposing faction .. once things get busy I’m not sure how things are going to pan out … watch this space!

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

It has actually made me more confident.  I remember the first ever time I joined voice-chat with a bunch of people I’d only ever “spoken” to through text in the game …. I was terrified.  Since then I’ve become a lot more confident dealing with strangers and it has increased my ability to organise and multi-task.  I simply view trying to organise or interact with other people “real world” as a type of raid or guild I’m organising “in-game” :-P

4 thoughts on “10 Years, 10 Questions

    • LOL .. unfortunately my Night Elf Hunter was the biggest “blonde” of the Night Elf world ever .. she probably got chucked out of Night Elf school for mucking around in the “hiding from nasty things” class … which is probably why she ended up being chased off a cliff. I still remember her with fondness .. just because in those days EVERYTHING was so new and fresh to me.

  1. Slow to respond as usual :D I started out in 2008 with a Night Elf Druid, I started playing after buying it for my oldest kid but then they lost interest and I got absorbed! I didnt like the idea of killing though so at first tried to level her as resto and be peaceful, I think that first year I managed just 40 levels and was so poor I couldn’t afford a mount! I chose alliance because I had assumed that Horde were evil, I now have a very different opinion and that Night Elf Druid is now a troll :D

    • Haha .. that first mount was a killer, wasn’t it? Took 40 levels to get it, and you had to save up for ages to get it. Now it’s frustrating having to walk for only 20 levels … :p

Leave a Reply

